CVSN wraps Aftermarket Distribution Summit summit

News Truck Parts and Service Staff October 2, 2013

The Commercial Vehicle Solutions Network (CVSN) recently completed its annual Aftermarket Distribution Summit in Santa Rosa, Calif., and the event was a total success.

“We had record attendance and some unbelievable accolades from people who were there and that created a feeling of personal pride for me, and a reward for all of the effort we put it into it,” says Marc Karon, president at Total Truck Parts and CVSN president from 2011 to 2013. “We did so much and worked so hard to make it a success.”

The event began Sept. 18 with a relaxing day of golfing and wine tasting and concluded with dinner and reception. It was followed by two days filled with engaging discussions on sales strategies, tactics for working with new/younger employees, navigating the maze of the Affordable Care Act and an update on the organization’s Right to Repair fight in Massachusetts.

John Minor, vice president at Midwest Wheel Companies, also was honored with the organization’s President’s Award for outstanding leadership in the aftermarket. A 40-year veteran of the industry, Minor was joined in Santa Rosa for his award presentation by his wife and two daughters.

The Summit concluded on Sept. 20 with an evening dinner and reception and entertainment by stand-up comedian Mack Dryden.

CVSN’s new board also was presented at the reception.

Dave Willis, president at CRW Parts is the new CVSN president. Edward Neeley, president at Truck Supply Co. of South Carolina is vice president and Andy Robblee, president at Six Robblee’s has taken over Willis’ former position as treasurer.

The organization’s distributor directors are now Kevin Hopton, CBS Parts; Dave Scheer, Inland Truck Parts; Tom Ogburn, Ogburn’s Truck Parts; Dave Olsen, TransAxle; Don Purcell, Stone Truck Parts; Joe Ward, First Call Truck Parts and Karon as ex-officio.

Angelo Volpe remains CVSN’s executive director. Bob Johnson from Bendix and Frank Petroncelli from Alcoa joined the organization as supplier directors.

View this article on one page