Wabash National awards $75K in scholarships

Wabash National Corporation has awarded 20 recent high school graduates with scholarships that, combined, represent a total award of $75,000.

Wabash National administered two scholarship programs for the 2017-18 academic year: one for children of Wabash National associates and another for children of the company’s supplier partners.

“Knowing the importance that advanced education plays in our lives, our communities, and our industry, we hope these scholarship programs will help to develop the next generation of leaders,” says Dick Giromini, chief executive officer. “We congratulate these students on their achievements, and wish them much success as they pursue their career goals.”

Ten students each received a one-time scholarship award of $5,000 as part of the annual Wabash National Scholarship Program for children of Wabash National associates. Established in 1990, scholarships are awarded to children of Wabash National associates who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership and strong extracurricular involvement.

Scholarship recipients were selected by an independent committee of educators and administrators of the Tippecanoe School Corporation based on students’ grade point average, SAT scores and extracurricular activities. Scholarship recipients are:

  • Vincenzo Ferrari, a 2017 graduate of Lake Lehman High School of Lehman, Pa.
  • Victoria Heltzel, a 2017 graduate of McCutcheon High School of Lafayette, Ind.
  • Anna Lee, a 2017 graduate of Harrison High School of West Lafayette, Ind.
  • Lyndsey Orozco, a 2017 graduate of Logansport High School of Logansport, Ind.
  • Emily Partington, a 2017 graduate of Elkhorn Area High School of Elkhorn, Wis.
  • Thomas Piotrowski, a 2017 graduate of Carroll Junior Senior High School of Flora, Ind.
  • Peyton Rader, a 2017 graduate of HeLa High School of Vancouver, Wa.
  • Anna Riley, a 2017 graduate of Harrison High School of West Lafayette, Ind.
  • Julia Smith, a 2017 graduate of Medford Area Senior High School of Medford, Wis.
  • Lydia Thomas, a 2017 graduate of Brownsburg High School of Brownsburg, Ind.

In addition, Wabash National awarded 10 students a one-time scholarship award of $2,500 as part of the Wabash National Corporation Academic Scholarship Program. This scholarship program for children of Wabash National suppliers was launched in spring 2016. Scholarship recipients were selected by an independent third party—the Center for Scholarship Administration. Scholarship recipients are:

  • Kerri Austin, a 2017 graduate of Larry A. Ryle High School of Union, Ky.
  • Gabrielle Ball, a 2017 graduate of Bishop Dwenger High School of Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Cole Davidson, a 2017 graduate of South Ridge High School of Canyon, Minn.
  • Jessica Graham, a 2017 graduate of Lawrence County High School of Moulton, Ala.
  • Benjamin Holmes, a 2017 graduate of Academic Magnet High School of Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
  • Justin Mullinax, a 2017 graduate of Waubonsie Valley High School of Naperville, Ill.
  • Julia Rohde, a 2017 graduate of Valparaiso High School of Valparaiso, Ind.
  • Harrison Schroeder, a 2017 graduate of Oak Ridge High School of Spring, Texas
  • Meghan Snellings, a 2017 graduate of Simon Kenton High School of Independence, Ky.
  • Alexis Zito, a 2017 graduate of Pittsburgh Science and Technology Academy of Pittsburgh, Pa.
Learn how to move your used trucks faster
With unsold used inventory depreciating at a rate of more than 2% monthly, efficient inventory turnover is a must for dealers. Download this eBook to access proven strategies for selling used trucks faster.
Used Truck Guide Cover